The Dream Team stays together!

Hello Everyone!
This week has been incredible! We are having so much fun and working so hard! It was wonderful to talk to y’all yesterday for Mother’s Day! I am already looking forward to the day that I get to call my own children on Mothers Day! All things in time, obviously, but I just love missionary work so much, and I love my family so much! I also love being a leader right now because I basically get to be a mom to twelve Sisters and I just love it so much.
0551
 In random news, I have taken up crocheting. I kind of feel like an old lady, but that’s okay! It’s very relaxing and doable while making calls, so that’s really nice! Also, Sister Bryans (aka the best companion) is making me an apron! I am so excited to show y’all when it is finished. It is seriously so cute and I love it already! Also, we thought this wall was really cute! And isn’t my companion cute too?
0552
So in case y’all didn’t hear, a lot of Georgia is on fire… So last week there was a ton of smoke everywhere. I thought maybe I was about to be swept away like Dorothy or something. Also, the Elders told us that some little kids came up to them and asked if it was the apocalypse and if they were going to be okay because of the smoke…
0549 smoke
We got to have interviews with President Lee and to learn some new finding ideas to help us in our missionary work! This week we saw a huge miracle! After interviews, we were hungry, so we headed with the Sisters to Firehouse Subs. As we were finishing out our order, the cashier asked us what we as missionaries do. We thought of the recent training on findin ideas and offered to show him a church tours video about the chapel. He was on the clock, so we offered to show him when he was off in 15 minutes. After his shift, it was evident that he was debating whether or not to talk to us. He ended up sitting down and saying “Okay, I really want to know. I want to watch the video.” We showed him the chapel tours video, and then proceeded to answer his questions. The Restoration was quickly brought up, and he related greatly to the experience of Joseph Smith. He said he knew God had been “knocking some doors” recently in his life, and it was so amazing! We were able to refer him to the missionaries in his neighborhood. He was so prepared! It is true that, just as Preach my Gospel says, “He will lead you to them or He will lead them to you.” I know there are so many people who are prepared to hear this message. Sometimes it can be easy to get discouraged when we are working hard and seeing no improvements in ourselves or our areas, but God is aware of who needs our testimonies and who is prepared. There really are people in every area who are ready NOW to hear the gospel!
This week we got to go to a Brad Wilcox devotional and it was amazing! I loved it and it went by too quickly! We got to sing in a missionary choir, singing the song “One by One,” written by Elder Bednar and arranged by Paul Cardall. I loved it! One of my favorite parts of the fireside was a thought Brad Wilcox brought up. I wasn’t quick enough to write it all down, so you may need to look it up online… Here it is…
Grace is not a result of righteousness; it is a source for it.
Grace is not a result of strength; it is a source for it.
Grace is not a result of our faith; it is a source for it.
Grace is not a result of our actions; it is a source for it.
Grace is not a result of [insert positive thing here]; it is a source for it.
Grace is how we reach out to God, and how He interacts with us. It is not something that fixes our inadequacies at the end of our efforts. It is something that enables us to move forward in our lives and allows us to make efforts; and try, and try, and try again, and again, and again. It allows us to hope, with surety, for good things to come. Ether understood this concept when he said:
“Wherefore, whoso believeth in God might with surety hope for a better world, yea, even a place at the right hand of God, which hope cometh of faith, maketh an anchor to the souls of men, which would make them sure and steadfast, always abounding in good works, being led to glorify God.” ~Ether 12:4
Rely on God. Truly on Jesus Christ. Allow them to take you where you AND and lift your to a higher place, a place of peace and assurance. This is possible if you will believe that He can change you. Because He loves you.
I love all of you so much! Please remember how much your Heavenly Father loves you!
Love,
Sister Tryon
PS: We saw the Gourleys at the Brad Wilcox fireside! And I got to say goodbye to Sister Tullis for a while!
Leave a Reply

