Faith, Hope, Charity and Love

Hello Everyone!
This week we have had so many opportunities to develop charity and faith!
On Tuesday we had a powerful district meeting and I loved every second of it! I even got to give a training on Charity and how it will help us to find those who are ready to receive the gospel! I can honestly say that I love my district! I cannot believe that in two weeks we will be having our transfer call! So crazy!
One thing that stood out to me while preparing for my training was a quote from President Utchdorf from our April 2016 Conference:

“The great enemy of charity is pride. Pride is one of the biggest reasons marriages and families struggle. Pride is short-tempered, unkind, and envious. Pride exaggerates its own strength and ignores the virtues of others. Pride is selfish and easily provoked. Pride assumes evil intent where there is none and hides its own weaknesses behind clever excuses. Pride is cynical, pessimistic, angry, and impatient. Indeed, if charity is the pure love of Christ, then pride is the defining characteristic of Satan.”

I had never connected pride with love. The less full of ourselves we are, the easier it is for us to love others. The more we focus on God (and consequently, the less we think about ourselves), the better able we are to see others as God sees them. The easier it will be to love them. That has stuck with me all week. When I am frustrated with someone and having a hard time loving them, it is because of my pride.

After our district meeting we had the chance to go on a trade-off with our Sister Training Leaders! I got to go to the Normandy area again and to work there! We talked to so many people and I loved it! Sometimes I think we get in a mental rut about finding new people to teach, but they are there! I was thankful for my tradeoff.
I think ultimately this week has been very humbling.
I am realizing more and more that I am nothing. I have so many faults and things that I struggle with and seem to be haunted by. I feel as though I do many things poorly, that my heart isn’t perfectly where it needs to be, that I am not focused enough. That I am not enough.
None of us are enough.
But we don’t have to be.
The scriptures teach us that Jesus Christ can work with us to help us become better.
As Elder Jeffrey R. Holland said: “However many chances you think you have missed, however many mistakes you feel you have made … , I testify that you have not traveled beyond the reach of divine love. It is not possible for you to sink lower than the infinite light of Christ’s Atonement shines.”
I am so thankful for a God who loves us enough to give us second chances. I know that with Him, we can be enough. He will take us as we are and lift us to be more like Him. I know He loves me. Do you? Please, if you get anything out of my letters, please remember who you are and how much your Heavenly Father loves you!
Love,
Sister Tryon
And now for pictures!
0474 big St Patrick's day box

A big box of St Patrick’s Day Treats

 

0475 Dave's killer bread love!

Everything was perfect, especially the Washington State specific food. I miss Dave’s Killer Bread!

0476 St Patrick's Day

SO MUCH GREEN STUFF

0477

We got to do some fancy baking this week for someone’s birthday! #foodnetworkherewecome

0478

I have finally taken artsy pictures that I feel like all Sisters take at some point in their mission

0479

The train had just come by right before we took our pictures and this poor guy didn’t make it..

0480

You can’t see, but my skirt kept hiking it’s way up into a page-boy pair of pants  because of the static electricity. I kept pulling it down as I walked. And it was pretty funny to see. Also, it was freezing for a couple days haha.

0481

I love my companion!

0482
0483
Leave a Reply

