The Week When Sister Tryon Took LOTS of Pictures!

Hello Everyone! This week has been wonderful! We have seen many little miracles! One of them came from morning exercise.

Every morning we get up at 6:20 so that we can be exercising by 6:30. Most mornings, Sister Tullis and I probably don’t look the cutest. Because it is 6:30 (: Generally, we put on some bug spray (thanks Sister Tullis’ mom!) and grab a water bottle before heading out. While walking, we smack the biting flies with our water bottles (they always land on Poor Sister Tullis, so I have gotten pretty good at that). We also say hi to the kids who wait at the bus stop and wave to any cars that pass by.

Well, for the past transfer or two there has been a black taxi cab that drives past us on the way to pick someone up and on their way out of our street. The person always honks at us when we wave, and it makes us smile. After our half hour of walking, we get ready for the day so we can be dressed and ready to study at 8:00 am. Sometimes it can be hard to get completely ready by then, and it can be easy to say that you will just put your hair up nicely after studies because it’s just you and your companion (and the lady we live with) who sees you.

BUT GUESS WHAT HAPPENED?!

We were studying one morning and Sister “R” pulled into the garage. And then she ran in and was like “SISTERS! THE TAXI MAN JUST STOPPED IN FRONT OF OUR HOUSE AND WANTS TO TALK TO YOU!” (Actually, that may not be a direct quote, I had just run the restroom a minute before so I was washing my hands and couldn’t hear very well). ANYWAY this guy wanted to talk to us! And so we ran up front to talk to him! And he was really nice and just wanted to meet us since he sees us every morning! And he accepted a Mormon.org card and said he would look it up! It was a huge miracle! Generally, we are the ones coming to your door, but not this time! It was pretty exciting!

ALSO funny moment haha.. So the Elders told us to go see this lady named “L”. And she is awesome! She was telling everyone around her to come and listen and have a bible study with us! And she told these young men to have bible study with us, and they looked us up and down. One of them said “Hmmm y’all are cute!” And “L” looked at them and was like “Uh-uh! Don’t say that to them! They ain’t looking for no boyfriend! They already got a man: Jesus!” And it was one of the funniest moments on my mission this far! So it’s possible that if they are there next time and they try to hit on us, that the Elders can teach them anyway!

ALSO! Last week we went to the Blue Crab Festival on P-Day and this week we went to St. Augustine with the Gourleys! And today we went to Castillo de San Marcos and to the St. Augustine Lighthouse! SO MUCH FUN! I love the Gourleys. Other random stories aside, sister Tullis and I are having fun! We got matching rings last week at the fair and feel pretty cool now.

We also caught our first lizard!

We and I are still learning so much about each other and about each other’s teaching styles! This week we noticed that we had been really struggling to focus or to motivate ourselves to do work. We were having hard time in lessons since nobody seemed to be progressing or caring, even though we could feel the Spirit. In our studies this week, we both had an aha moment. Though we can pray for the Spirit, we must do it more than just once in the car before a lesson. We must, as Elder Bednar so clearly taught, intently observe our investigator. We must be praying throughout the lesson for their heart to be softened. We must pray for our companions, that they will be able to yield to the promptings of the Spirit and teach according to the needs of our investigators.

And we must follow the counsel given to us in Preach My Gospel: “Every morning … , missionaries should get on their knees and plead with the Lord to loosen their tongues and speak  through them to the blessing of those they will be teaching. If they will do this, a new light will come into their lives. There will be greater enthusiasm for the work. They will come to know that in a very real sense, they are servants of the Lord speaking in His behalf. They will find a different response from those they teach. As they do so by the Spirit, their investigators will respond under the influence of the same Spirit.” -Gordon B. Hinckley, PMG p. 4

We are noticing the difference this is making in our efforts. We are more focused on how this is changing and blessing the lives of our investigators. We ask more inspired questions. We are finding more joy in knocking doors. And slowly but surely, our investigators are changing. That has been a huge miracle this week. I am thankful for the chance that I have to dedicate what little time I have to serving my Heavenly Father and my Savior. And I am thankful that when I eventually am required to leave the Florida Jacksonville Mission, that I never have to stop serving Them. I know this is God’s work, and that many more will be blessed by my service than I may ever know. I love being a missionary! I love my Heavenly Father and I know that he loves me too! Please remember how much your Heavenly Father loves YOU!

Especially YOU!!

Love, Sister Tryon

Now for the pictures

image1 (6)

We caught our first lizard at 8:30pm this Tuesday. It looks like it’s plotting my demise

image2 (4)

In Downtown Palatka, they have all these amazing murals painted! So we took one picture.

image3 (2)

I used to think I was good at cooking…

We decided to make German Pancakes because we have so many eggs.

And we put it in the oven and when the timer went off this is what we saw.

It was delicious when covered in butter and syrup.

Needless to say, Sister “R” laughed at my cooking abilities momentarily…

image4 (1)

Sister Tullis does this thing where she takes a picture outside the house in each area.

So this is her second area, and mine as well, so I am holding up two fingers!

image5 (1)

We decided to take pictures finally so…. There are lots of pictures of Sister Tullis and me.

I seriously love this Sister!

image6

We got matching rings at the Blue Crab Festival!

They say FJM for Florida Jacksonville Mission.

Also, don’t mind all the filters, I finally realized our iPads have them…

and we got carried away a bit haha.

And BRACE YOURSELF more pictures are to come…

 image1 (7)

Sister Aure and I caught a frog on our tradeoff a while ago!

Actually, she caught it and put it in my hand haha

image2 (5)

She is a master picture taker and so she took one with me.

And taught me allllll about filters..

image3 (3)

At the Fort (Castilo)! I can see the ocean! So close and yet so far haha

image4 (2)

Brother Gourley took a lot of pictures for us.

I am sorry to barrage y’all with these but also not sorry…

Also I promise I wear more outfits that this one…

image5 (2)

At the top of the lighthouse in St. Augustine.

It was so WINDY!

It made me think of walking across the bridge at Deception Pass in dresses with Beth…

image6 (1)

We climbed 219 steps to get to the top.

It made me think of climbing the ENDLESS bell tower at Notre Dame with my

dear seesters…

Both views were incredible and worth it!

image3 (4)

Full of energy at the beginning of our trek!

image1 (8)

 Brother Gourley took this picture from the bottom of us at the top

image2 (6)

It started raining once we had gone up and down, so they needed to close it down

(rain+ lightning+lighthouse=less safe tourists)

image4 (3)

Aaaaand last but not least, a doormat we saw this week while Tracting.

Leave a Reply

