Mighty May Miracles

This week has been wonderful for us!

We have been working hard to find those who are prepared to hear the message of the restored gospel, but have been getting lots of uninterested people.. Which means we are one more closer to a yes each time! We found 5 new investigators this week, so that was wonderful! I also learned how to be super patient and loving and peaceful when people want to Bible bash. Bashing does nothing but cause contention and frustration and drive away the Spirit, as well as destroy others’ testimonies of their Savior. There is no point in bashing. We met many people this week who wanted to fight/mock us and that is alright. We don’t come to doors to fight, but to share what we have learned through the witness of the Spirit. So there were many people this week who were left to be angry by themselves. Sister Tullis is very good at kindly excusing ourselves and being unwilling to fight.

I think that in coming on a mission, you truly get the opportunity to walk in the footsteps of the Savior! Though He created this earth under the direction of His Father, many denied that He was the Christ, our Savior. He was scourged, mocked, rejected, questioned, and more. He knew more than all those who did those things and, nearing end of His perfect life, pleaded “Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do” (Luke 23:34). This week I am beginning to understand the love that you can feel for those who despise you and all you do. I hope I can become more like the Savior in my everyday life. I truly love being a missionary!  Apart from lots of finding this week, we have seen many of our less active members as well, and that has been nice.

Also, random thing I learned this week, not many people in our area know what cake pops are! Sister Tullis and I made some on May 4th (because we needed a reason to celebrate) and gave them to people, and they were like “Cake pops? What are those?” And know Sister “R” (the lady with whom we live) loves them. She came home the other day with boxes and boxes of cake mix and frosting and chocolate, and started making them for people she knew. In other completely unrelated news, I may have gained some weight (though who knows from what?)… They are so delicious and we are teaching ourselves self-control haha.

cake pops

Also, our Mission President has dubbed this month to be Mighty Miracle May, and I love it! We are all trying to set baptismal dates for May 28th! We are unsure how this will happen since our investigators haven’t been to church enough, but we know that miracles can happen! We have seen them abound this week! The following are just two examples of the miracles we have seen this week:

Our ward recently called a new relief society president, and we have been asking her what we can do to help her out. She finally gave us a list of sisters in our ward who usually have their visiting teaching message sent out to them by mail. She wasn’t sure if they still lived there, and wanted us to go and check them out. We decided to work on it as soon as possible, and have seen so many blessings! At every home, we have been able to talk to someone and that has led to new investigators and other lessons taught. One of these is Jerry, who said he wanted to come to church and was very receptive to our message about the Plan of Salvation as his wife passed a few years ago. Unfortunately, he actually lives in the Elders’ area, so we can’t teach him, but I am so excited for the Elders to teach him! Miracles abound!

We also had a huge miracle this Sunday! Earlier on Monday, we had been shopping at Walmart and we’re heading home before a dinner appointment. We saw a woman who was sitting with her head in her hands and both felt like we needed to talk to her. We offered help and helped her to find a way home. We gave her a card and then thought nothing of it. All week we worked hard and invited so many people to church! None of the people we invited came to church. But the random woman we had met came and sat through Sacrament meeting. We talked to her afterwards, and realized it was the woman we had briefly met! We were able to teach her a lesson, and she said she might like this church. She has been looking and wondering why there are so many. We are excited to meet with her in the future!

Miracles abound when we expect them! I know that Heavenly Father blesses all of us so much when we are obedient and do all we can to serve Him. He seriously loves us so much. We may never fully comprehend how much He loves us. But if you want a good starting point, think about your mom and you might realize it just a bit.. I was so thankful to be able to Skype with my family this Sunday. I can’t believe that the next time I Skype (Christmas Day 2016), I will have about 4 months left in the mission. So sad. I love being a missionary.

Also, in funny stories… This Sunday my companion and I were in the car, making our lunch. We had to cut up an avocado and a bell pepper, but we had no knife… Our home was 2 miles away, and we didn’t want to waste 4 miles of gas to get a knife… So we started cutting them up with our forks, and then I asked my companion to cut the red bell pepper since I was wearing a very white skirt. And then (since she was using a fork) her hands got super messy with bell pepper juice. So she started pouring water on her hands outside the car, and I turned to look for a towel for her hands. And the Tupperware, holding our salad with avocado and massacred bell pepper, which I had been watching previously, slipped from its place in the car. All over the skirt my companion was wearing. She didn’t notice until I started laughing so hard I started crying and until I scooped up avocado and bell peppers from off her skirt. So after 10 minutes of stubborn struggling to cut vegetables with the side of a metal fork so we wouldn’t have to go home, we drove home to change. It was quite the ironic moment, but it made me laugh so it was all good! Life as a missionary is great!

0222 Gardenias from investigator

One of our investigators gave us a gardenia bouquet

0223 taken while driving non-blurry church ad sign

My companion took this while I was driving.

I slowed down to 15 miles per hour and I am very impressed at how not blurry it is..

0221 selfie in Palatka

I took a Selfie, since sometimes, you can’t see my face 🙂

0224 May the 4th be with you

We celebrated May 4th…

Really excited to see that movie sometime after the mission haha.

(A note from Sister Tryon’s mom: For those not familiar with “Star Wars Day”, it is a day set apart on May 4th, due to “May the Force Be With You!”, a common greeting in the Star Wars universe, having translated to “May the 4th be with you” in calendar universe).

 

I love you all! Remember how much our Heavenly Father loves you! And if you didn’t yesterday, hug your mom and all those who are dear to you. Hug the mother-like figures in your life. Though life can be really hard, it is so worth it. And you have so many people who are cheering you on and who love you. Love, Sister Tryon

Leave a Reply

