Palatka, Putnam County, Florida

Many things happened this week! Among others, I went to Palatka! Also, whenever I hear “Palatka” I think of the Aflack duck haha.

On Monday evening, one of our members fed us, and then gave us TONS of frozen fruits and vegetables since their freezer was getting too full. I was so happy.

0153 veggies and fruits

On Tuesday we had an awesome district meeting. We also held Sister Clay’s
“funeral” and ate lots of brownies. As members found out I was leaving they kept giving us more and more food and I am really bad at saying no and my cheeks are getting rounder and rounder. I love the South.

 

0151 district funeral for Sister Clay

District

0154 funeral Clay

Mock Funeral for Sister Clay

Transfer day (Wednesday) was interesting! We had breakfast with the Browns and the other Sisters, and then Sister Barton and I headed to the trainer meeting. While she trained, I met with other missionaries whose companions were also going to train. We were taught by two of the missionaries who were going home that transfer, and it was amazing! I love learning about how I can be a better missionary and disciple of Jesus Christ! And I met Sister Beach! She is so cute. And I feel especially tall standing next to her.

0152 SIster Tryon and Sister Beach

Also, I am driving the car in this area. Now, I am not a bad driver per se, but I am used to driving a 15-passenger van. And I haven’t driven that in about 4-5 months now. So I feel a little bit rusty and sometimes Sister Beach is a little more thankful that Heavenly Father protects His missionaries haha. I am getting more used to it, but it has been an adventure haha. Especially since the Florida downpours are different than the Seattle ones, and it took me a while to figure out how to make the wipers go as quickly as I liked. We had some amazing puddles to drive through, by the way. It made me feel kind of like Moses parting the Red Sea whenever I did because our car is short and the splashes were not. It also reminded me of Papy soaking his brothers in a puddle haha.

Aaaaand I am rambling haha. You thought you escaped that when I left Washington but NOPE! I am still talking. Surprise.

Anyway, I love Palatka already! I love the members and the people. The area I am in has 4 baptismal dates! One of them, I.I., is so solid. We taught him
on my first night, and he set a baptismal date for December 22nd. He had been praying later, however, and watched the Joseph Smith movie, and determined that he knows this is true, so why wait? He is getting baptized on February 28th and I am so excited and happy for him!

Also, speaking of wonderful things, there is a family here (the Gourleys) that is so sweet. We eat with them at least twice a week. They fed us four meals between Friday evening and Sunday evening. They are amazing. Basically they are the grandparents of the missionaries, and I am so thankful to have them.

Also, we live with a member. It is pretty great! She is so sweet and her sister(“Punkin”) comes and talks to us sometimes and I love it. Also, sometimes cows and other animals come up to the fence. We feed the donkey that comes. It is pretty fun. I love being in the country!

0155 donkey

I am so thankful to be in this area. I love and miss Fleming Island so much, but I know that I need to be here right now. I am so thankful for the chance to be a missionary and to serve the Lord with all my heart, might, mind, and strength. I love you all dearly. I miss you, but I know that I need to be here right now. I am so thankful for my Savior and all He has done for me as an individual. I know that God loves each and every one of you. Please turn to Him. Let Him take care of you. I love you all so much.

Love love love,
Sister Tryon

0152

Missionary shoes take a beating!

Leave a Reply

