NO SOLICITING!

So, I always thought soliciting was selling things..? According to people here, soliciting is knocking on a door, trying to share the
best thing in the world for free, or even looking at you for more than
a second haha. I really kind of want the official dictionary
definition haha but I must restrain the sass bubbling within me. It is
pretty hard sometimes. Especially since Lou trained me so well in how
to be loud and sassy and now, I just have to remember to be kind and
courteous in all things I do.

I just think it’s interesting how people
will get mad at you/yell at you/try to Bible bash with you/threaten to
call the Police on you when you knock on their door. It is a little
sad to me. Not because I don’t like being yelled at/thoroughly
disliked (I say for Grandma Timmerman’s purposes), but because I know
that the message I bear as a disciple of Christ will make their life
even better! I honestly just want people to know of the peace and true
joy the gospel has brought me. I don’t want anyone to ever feel alone
or unloved.

Anyway, life as a missionary is definitely interesting! On Tuesday
after emailing, we talked to one of our investigators, “K”. She is so
so sweet, and we taught her the Restoration. She has lots of amazing
questions, and I love it! She said she would read from the Book of
Mormon and pray about it, and that if the answer was that it was true,
that she would want to be baptized into the church! I am really
excited for her! We’re going to teach her later this week.

On Wednesday, we picked up Sister Call! She is with us this week until
this upcoming Wednesday! And we were with two other sisters, all
packed into a car, with our suitcases in the trunk and everyone all
over our laps and it was crowded. How many Mormons can you fit into a
Toyota Corolla? The pictures coming do not even begin to show how
packed we were into that car haha.

0081 How many sisters can you fit in a corolla

How Many Missionaries can you fit in a Toyota Corolla?

082

 And we taught “A”, a recent convert from the other Ward. She was baptized, and taught by the other  ward’s missionaries, but attends in our ward. She is amazing, I just  love her! She is awesome! And so full of the Spirit!

Also, we have started volunteering at Salvation Army working in the
food pantry. And so we organize cans and face them and check dates and
I am a pro at it. They love me haha and we assemble bags and so I
always arrange them to be beautiful and organized and easy to carry
because I apparently will never lose my bagging skills. I hope haha.
For now I am still pretty good at it so we shall see when I get home
haha.

On Friday we taught “E” and committed Sister “W” to read from
the Book of Mormon. She is French, and so funny. I love her.

0077

Sister Dixon, Sister “W”, and Sister Tryon

Saturday was great! We actually gave out three copies of the Book of
Mormon, and people said they would read them. Nobody let us schedule a
return appointment with them because they were all crazy busy (I am
somewhat skeptical at times) but that’s okay!

Also! So I may have mentioned this last time, but I’ll say it again!
So we have something called Golden Hour every day, and it is an hour
that we spend trying to find new people to teach! So in reality, we
are only tracting and knocking random doors for an hour of the day!
Some days are different, but still! And Sister Dixon and I have
started making really specific goals. Really, REALLY specific goals.
And they lead to miracles. Last week, we prayed about it and decided
that we wanted to talk to someone who had twins. And we prayed and
felt good about it, and that was how we were going to know that they
were people God specifically wanted us to talk to. And so we were
knocking doors, and this lady answered, and said “Oh dears, I can’t
talk right now, I have twins in the bathtub!” And Sister Dixon and I
internally made a gasping sound like “hhhhheheeheeeshhchh?!” (Like the
sounds that Beth and Jennifer and I sometimes make to be annoying) and
then asked if we could come by another time that would be better. AND
SHE SAID YES. I have found that when you make those goals and are
prayerful in seeking the Lord’s guidance on what goals to make, you
will see miracles!

So this week, we had another. Sister Dixon, Sister Call, and I were
praying and seeking guidance on what goal to make. And Sister Dixon
looked at me and said “So… I feel like this is a weird one, but I
feel like we need to find someone from a “New” state (New
York/Hampshire/Jersey/etc.). And we had our Golden Hour, and had 10
minutes left and we had finished the street we had previously designed
to go. And so we went to the one right next to it, and we saw a man
washing a truck! We offered to help him, and we talked to him for a
little bit. And when we asked him where he was from, he was like
“Can’t you tell? Guess!” I found out that I am not good with guessing accents haha that is what  we will say.. HE IS FROM NEW YORK!!! Another miracle! It is  amazing!this work is amazing! We see miracles every day!

Also, I feel that I need to acknowledge the awful terrorist attacks from this  past week. It breaks my heart at people would be so cruel and that
anyone would seek to take the life of another. I am praying for the
families of those who have now passed on, that they may be able to
feel comfort. It is these kinds of events that make me want to share
the gospel more. I know that this life is not the end. I know that we
can truly be with our families forever. In particular, Mosiah 16: 6-9
has stood out to me as comforting. I especially love verse 8.

7 And if Christ had not risen from the dead, or have broken the bands
of death that the grave should have no victory, and that death should
have no sting, there could have been no resurrection.

8 But there is a resurrection, therefore the grave hath no victory,
and the sting of death is swallowed up in Christ.

9 He is the light and the life of the world; yea, a light that is
endless, that can never be darkened; yea, and also a life which is
endless, that there can be no more death.

I know that the gospel of Christ brings us peace in this crazy world.
We don’t have to suffer the full sting of death, because of Christ.
Because He lives.

One spiritual thought this week comes from Sister Craig: “Faith has a
short shelf life”  I just really like that. Faith is a principle of action. It is not  passive, it is not a one time deal, it is a conscious effort every day
to come closer to Christ. Faith leads to conversion.

Also, here is a funny moment from this week: We were having our
studies, and our phone rang. We didn’t know the number but answered
with our “Hello, this is Sister Dixon, Sister Tryon, and Sister Call.”
And then the man said “…You’ve got to be kidding me…… I have the
wrong number. Bye.” And I just thought it was so funny. He apparently
didn’t want to talk to us haha. I love being an awkward missionary
when people avoid you! Haha it is actually pretty funny. I truly do
love being a missionary! Also, I realized today that I have been gone
for 2 months now! I am already 1/9 of the way done! How crazy is
that?! I only get 16 more months here! I don ‘t know how I feel about
that. I truly do love being a missionary.

I hope you are all doing well. I love and miss you all dearly. Thank
you so much for your letters and emails. Keep being happy and remember
that Heavenly Father loves you so much! You are a beloved child of
God! You are worth everything to him!

I love you all so much!

Sister Michelle Rose Tryon

Additional pictures from the past week and from this week:

 

2 thoughts on “NO SOLICITING!

Leave a Reply

